Halloween…

Had an interesting weekend, realistically we weren’t going to manage 5 nights out in 5 days, but we approached the weekend intending to give it our complete best shot……and then failed miserably!

Thursday started well, i met up with my mum at the british museum and went to see the Grayson Perry exhibition. It was really really awesome. I don’t think I’ve ever seen any of his stuff before, so I was really quite surprised at how good it was. I’d heard so many dismissive things in the press, but it was really cool and funny and very good in a folk art kind of way. The premise of the exhibition really worked.. presenting his own work along side a load of accidentally cool or kitch stuff from history. I ended up buying the guide book in fact cuz I thought it was that interesting.
I haven’t seriously done art for years, well, I went through a phase when we were living in camberwell, but we had amazing views from the back roof terrace that were just asking to be drawn, but I haven’t actually done art projects properly since we lived in Holloway which was a good 7 years ago now 😦 but I’m intending to start at some point, as we’ve asked for a masonry drill for christmas, so we might finally be able to get stuff up on the walls.Anyways…Grayson Perry exhibition catalogue = massive inspiration. My taste in art as a teenager was pretty much the same as it is now, except that my parents hated modern art and all I’d ever seen really was renaissance and victorian stuff, so all my art books are of those periods. I need a few more that are slightly more modern. I know theres the internet etc, but you can’t print stuff out properly from there, and sometimes you just need printed out stuff.

Anyways…we were contemplating whether to go to Mels gig (Jons a sucker for anything with communist in the title) or Hawklords on Thursday night, but went to neither as Jon is having problems at work again. The kind where he says ‘I have too much work on’ fairly emphatically and repeatedly, and his bosses all suddenly look away in a shifty manner and do nothing what so ever about it. It was kind of the problem with the weekend in general actually, Jon just couldn’t relax because of it.

Friday night however, was a brilliant one. Earlier in the week I’d gone to Sainsburys and bought a bottle of Kracken Rum, which is a nice but fairly standard dark rum in a cool bottle with a picture of a massive giant squid on it. We proceeded to drink lots of it, and decided to go to the Rocky Horror themed dress up night at the Fox on a bit of a whim. Awesome music, all show tunes and 20’s to 50’s classics. Cheap booze, hung out with Gemma and Liz and ran into Mel who had acquired a bloke who wasn’t actually in costume, but was a complete ringer for Dr Manhatten, only in pink of course. Best costume was definitely a bloke who came as the human centipede, with a trail of blow up dolls attached to each other behind him.

Saturday, we got home at about 4am, and I spent the whole day sleeping  with a hangover and ME. I believe at some point Liz and Jon cleared off to go to St Pauls, and then came home and slept as well. Went over to Adam’s and Genny’s rather later than planned  to meet up to go to White Mischief, and got to the club as the doors opened at 9. It was immediately apparent that I wasn’t going to manage standing up till 1am when the Abney Park were on…tried sitting on the ledge at the back of the main room, but its soooo uncomfortable, and I have had stiff/bruised legs for two days afterwards (which is not like me). So we went home, just as everyone else turned up 😦 had a really good time while we were there mind, all the acts we saw were great, loved the proliferation of opera singers 🙂 and it was so much better than last year for not being totally overcrowded. If we do it again we will turn up much later in future, as I’m more fussed about the seeing friends and dancing to cool music later in the evening than the cabaret earlier. However it is the second time I’ve been to white mischief and I’ve been too ill, and the second time I’ve been too ill at an Abney Park gig, so I’m thinking possibly the combination is doomed.
Also bizarrely, Kings Cross is the hardest place to get home from in all of North/North east London …took two hours 😦

Sunday was irritating, I was disappointed from the night before, and all bouncy by about 6pm and wanted to do something, we had agree to stay over at Liz’s and go to David RP’S gig,as Liz lives down the road form the Nambucca, except Liz had a hangover and was too tired to come out, and Jon was stressing about work the next day, so we stayed in and watched Downton Abbey. 😦

However it was probably just as well we did as yesterday I woke up with the evil sore throat from hell and a very bad cold. Which meant, as Jon is still having continuing work problems (hence me being alone in the house to write this at nearly 8pm), we didn’t go to our friend Roach’s music video launch either.

I was supposed to be making the xmas cake this week…thats so not happening either! Oh well! I thought the rest of November was going to be reasonably quiet, but it really really isn’t, so I’ve got loads to look forwards to!

Leave a Reply

