Diary of a London Club Kid

So the health wobble ended up being a bit shorter lived than expected, but as I ended up on 3 types of ‘do not drive or operate machinery’ drowsy making medications at once for 10 days, those days were mostly spent in bed! ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

Which left us having to do an awful lot of cleaning last weekend, which unusually for us we got on with like whirlwinds! As always happens with cleaning, one thing leads to another. You realise half the reason its messy is there are lots of orphan things lying round that do not have a home, or used to have a home and that home is already full. And before you know it, in order to put away this one thing, you’ve rearranged the living room completely.

One of the main things that for us had been falling foul of the orphan stuff problem of late has been my flyer collection. I’ve been collecting flyers and gig tickets since late 2000, when I left my parents home for the first time and was therefore able to actually go places and do things (showing my age). The gig tickets are all stuff I’ve been to. The flyers are stuff I either went to or would have gone to if I hadn’t already been hungover from something else. And I’m actually quite proud of myself for keeping hold of them all this time; aย little less proud of the fact I haven’t actually filed any of them since 2003 :-S when I moved in with my boyfriend basically (blaming him, its all his fault). But by this weekend the boxes I stashed my fliers in were all full, they were piled anywhere there was space on the shelf the boxes were on, and had started migrating across every available surface in the living room. So I decided to do something about it.

This is the biggest box full I had….

this is the smaller box full….

and this is the bag of fliers that were lying round in places they should not be.

So I looked at it all, groaned for a bit, and then headed off to Poundland and Smiths and came back with two scrap books, a load of photo corners and 16 cardboard files for ยฃ2 and got to work…..

3 hours later it all looked like this….

from left to right, the heart shaped box, which is the only bit I have left to sort, my original flyer album, and 12 files all with a different year written on them with flyers organised according to year inside them. And quite a large folder of flyers I have no idea what year they are, but as everyone is considerate enough to give a date and a day of the week on their flyers I reckon I can work it out from that!

It is obviously an ongoing project, but I am quite proud of finally after 10 years getting motivated to sort it out!

I also took a load of pictures of my original flyer album c2000-2003, cuz it is pretty, and I find it interesting anyway…..

the album cover, with pretty stickers I picked up over the years. (tsar, anti product, glam-ou-rama club, the strokes, foo fighters…and mo-ho-bish-o-pi (wtf?)!!)

the first grown up club and gigs I went to in Cardiff! (Band was My Ruin btw, not entirely sure its the first gig I went to , but its the first one I had the bright idea of saving the ticket for)

the first time I went to Stay Beautiful (with bonus Amen and Eminem flyers)

early early glam-ou-rama flyer, may even be from the first one.

the first time my mates band The Renegade Playboys played with the Darkness..probably the first time I ever saw the Darkness.

Foo fighters secret gig at ULU (university of london union)

First Manics gig that wasn’t at a festival I went to

Dragonforce looking cute and young!

Trash and Slimelight…the more mainstream clubbing options! ๐Ÿ™‚

The Cats Meow (I think the night I first got with my boyfriend at) and Jet black and bleached.

A whole page of B-Movie flyers. The ones that look like film strips were printed on acetate, how cool is that!

Dom’s night Panic.

A rather boring looking Rachel Stamp gig ticket. When I get the later stuff sorted there are some flyers of theirs with hilariously optimistic artwork on them, but not at this stage :-S

So yeah, the day of that same Stamp gig I was in Cardiff and bought King Adoras new album purely so I could go and chat up the boy behind the counter in HMV with nail varnish and millions of bracelets on, and see if he was going to the gig that evening. But he wasn’t, he was going to another gig with a band that also did eyeliner and too many bracelets, but not the same one. And that was just Cardiff on one night. It was such a big scene, Weird to think its a vanished world now!

So hopefully i’ll get that all finished in the next few weeks.

Have also been doing a bit of sewing, but nothings finished yet and some charity shopping, but i haven’t had time to take photographs. So yeah, hopefully get that all up soon! ๐Ÿ™‚

2 thoughts on “Diary of a London Club Kid

  1. hahaha, loads of those are familiar cos liz clearly went to the majority of those gigs with you and has decorated her room and guitar with the same flyers and stickers. that tzar sticker is ace. saw a film recently called “super” which had “calling all destroyers” as the title music…

    • yeah, I did go to most of those with Liz! ๐Ÿ™‚ Maybe not Tzar though, cuz that was supporting the Stamp in Cardiff. She must have gone to one of the other nights they played together or something? Will check the reviews of that film out! ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

