Random update….what I’m doing, fabric I bought, selfie!

I’ve actually been working on a dress for the past few weeks, and as this is a particularly complicated one that required a mock-up and I am trying to get the finish as damn near perfect as possible, it is taking me longer than normal. I am also slightly lethargic about it as I have had this one lined up for the best part of a year. I need to make it, it is a lolita-steampunk dress which is something I desperately need for clubbing, and I have a deadline for a friends hen party in a few weeks, so I actually have to get a move on now. However it is dragging a bit.

It also doesn’t help that I visited the local fabric stall for the first time in a while and she was just putting out a new batch of stock, so I went a bit mad…..

ImageImage

 

The Hawaiian print is 100% cotton, which is unusual for that stall, and I have 4m of normal cotton and 2m of cotton sateen. I am thinking another halter neck dress with this one, using the pink satin on the right as lining, and possibly a 50’s style blouse out of the sateen. The floral viscose at the front is bookmarked for Sewaholic’s Cambie Dress, the pattern for which arrived a couple of days ago. I think a slightly baroque version would be very nice, & the leopard print at the back is going to be a mock up of this dress from Butterick, designed by Gertie, who has basically one of the best sewing blogs on the internet. Having googled versions people have already done it looks far nicer when the ruched bit at the top is the same colour as the main part of the dress, and i think I have enough to do that, so it will be a very wearable mock up if it ends up fitting me, however it is another of those damn dresses with boning where you can’t really fit the bodice till you’ve finished it, so I will have to see.

Anyway, I have therefore got a little distracted and need to concentrate on the one I’m actually making, and then the 4 or so things after that I actually need to make before I get all excited and start making new shiny stuff.

However I have been feeling ill today so I haven’t got on with anything, apart from taking a selfie cuz I am feeling particularly stylish today….

Image

 

Bow and long sleeved jersey top by myself, trousers m&s and wooly jumper from topshop. Bedroom is a bit of a mess, but is about to be redecorated.

Yeah, so theres no point in having clothes if you don’t look after them, so I better go and do a pile of ironing :-S

Final post about the London Edge is coming (if anyone is still interested) hopefully I’m a bit more organised next week! 

Leave a Reply

