tops, scarfs and neverending ilnesses.

Well the last 3 weeks have been pretty much a write off! I haven’t actually had any germ in particular, though that may be about to change as Jon is off work with the nastiest fever germ I’ve seen in a long time, but I’ve been knocked out with Chronic Fatigue and fighting things off for the last few weeks which has pretty much stopped my xmas sewing plans in their tracks.

However I have finally finished the top for my friend, which got sent off last week…

renfrew top for christine

 

Its just another basic sewaholic renfrew top, as I have made several before (here, here and here amongst many) and although my friend is really happy with it, making it has taught me there is no way on earth I can do commissions for a while yet. There were a couple of little imperfections my friend hasn’t noticed yet (so I’m not going to say where they are incase she reads this! (evil laugh!)) which are no big deal on something you make for yourself or even as a gift I suppose, but if I was to sell stuff I’m still not quite accurate enough. A large part of that is from my new sewing machine being a large amount faster than my old one though so hopefully I’ll improve the more I use it. However the complete lack of being able to stick to any kind of deadline (This top took me about 10 months from first getting the idea) is a massive issue I really can’t get round at the moment, so I’m just going to stick to sewing for myself.

Even then deadlines can be tricky though, I have had to abandon my idea for an xmas lolita dress till next year as I’ve just been too ill, and I set myself the goal of cutting out the fabric for my Regency dancing dress before xmas and have only managed half of that as I’ve been so unwell (and having Jon off work this week hasn’t helped!) I am very worried about that actually as I have to have it finished for the 25th january which ordinarily would be an easy goal, but with me being as ill as I’ve been I’m going to have to have a contingency plan I think!

One thing I have finished finally is my scarf…

hand knitted scarf2 hand knitted scarf

photos taken along the river walk between Catford and Sydenham, hat made by the friend who is getting the jersey top, coat from the mens section of TKMaxx, trousers from M&S, lighting courtesy of it being really pretty late afternoon this time of year!

Picture of the scarf upclose so you can see what the pattern and the colour is under normal lights…

IMG_3873

 

It was made using Debbi Bliss Riva wool and a pattern from the same Riva pattern book my shrug came from.  Although I had knitted garter stitch scarves before, this was my first attempt at a proper one, and i must say I had no idea quite how long scarves actually are till I had to knit one. This is about the same height as me. Obviously it therefore took forever to knit. It looks really wobbly as it rolls up terribly even after I’ve blocked it, it is straight though and I have no idea how the hell they got them looking so flat in the pictures in the pattern booklet. However it is really really useful and I am in the middle of a matching hat, which I hope to have a good go at over xmas whilst I’m at my parents.

Anyway, as its only a week away, the chances of me posting anything before that are very slim, so everyone have an amazing Christmas! 🙂

2 thoughts on “tops, scarfs and neverending ilnesses.

  1. Pingback: What I made in 2014. | euphoricstimuli

  2. Pingback: The hipster hat | euphoricstimuli

Leave a Reply

