The hipster hat

First make of the year, I’ve finished a hat to match the scarf I made just before xmas…..

IMG_3971IMG_3985  IMG_3976

 

Its the Bobeek pattern from Ravelry, done in Debbie Bliss Riva in Red (the purple red, apparently theres several different reds). I found it an easy pattern given I’ve never knitted a hat before, however everyone on Ravelry said it ran large, I wasn’t unduly worried as I have a large head, but if I made it again I would take 6 stitches (the repeat you need for the top part) out of it to make it slightly snugger.

I am very happy with it and it matches the scarf and both my winter coats perfectly, however I tried it on Jon for a laugh….

IMG_3982

 

and it fits perfectly, looks amazing, and very very hipster! So I think I am going to have to make him one in a different colourway of Riva, or make myself something new and donate him that particular set. grrrr!

My regency dress is coming along nicely, it is not going to be ready for the exact party it was intended for, however I have had to have minor surgery on the top of my leg this week (nothing scary, just removing a skin tag) which means I won’t be able to dance this weekend anyway, so it doesn’t really matter and it is only a week behind schedule, I am relatively well at the moment, but for some reason sewing is tiring me out majorly, so I am only able to do about 2 hours a day, so everything is taking ages!

I am also having minor wardrobe dilemma in regards to what to sew next. Its really nice to just be able to sew on a whim again finally, but I still have to make up my mind about stuff and do things like prewash the fabric>

3 thoughts on “The hipster hat

  1. Pingback: Green boyfriend hat and random fabric | euphoricstimuli

  2. Pingback: winter hat in summer time | euphoricstimuli

  3. Pingback: The lady vanishes | euphoricstimuli

Leave a Reply

