Black velvet if you please.

I don’t normally sew on the weekend, our flat is rather small and I can’t really spread out when Jon is around. But on Saturday he was off on his brothers stag do (getting pissed) & I was rather at a loose end (not getting pissed) so I decided to be productive and actually got the entire dress I had cut out sewn up in a day.

So…its a pattern I’ve used before. Kitschycoo Lady Skater dress. ( my versions here, here & here)  I am getting slightly bored of it, but it was exactly what I wanted for this dress, and to be honest the 3 dresses I have already are always in and out the washing machine I find them so easy to wear.

The inspiration for this dress was seeing a picture of a friend of a friend in a burgundy velvet skater dress, idly googling to see if anyone had one in my size in burgundy or black & finding that although there are some absolutely gorgeous velvet dresses in the shops at the moment, I couldn’t find many at all in plus size, & non of those had taken account of the fact that if you make something bigger you need to lengthen the skirt too. Then I realised I had a fairly large piece of black stretch velvet in my stash, it did’t disintegrate in the washing machine, so it was a better idea to make my own.

So here it is….

IMG_0284 IMG_0279 IMG_0281 IMG_0278

Sewed up like a dream, no mistakes as far as I’m aware, & I’m really proud of it. With hindsight I would have lengthened the skirt by an inch or two, even though it is longer than a lot of plus sized offerings on the internet, as being velvet it rides up a bit. But as Jon says, it is fine for partying, which  as the moment I took my coat off in the pub yesterday whilst wearing it, my friends were all like ‘Goth!’ is probably going to be its main use. I’m also not entirely sure how happy stretch velvet is with going through the washing machine repeatedly, so I’m definitely saving this for special occasions.

Next sewing project is my xmas lolita dress. I bought the fabric last year but ran out of time, & I have, after several months of searching, found decent quality lace in the colour I wanted to go with it. I was planning on being adventurous and trying to replicate something in an Otome no Sewing book, however I think I’m just going to use my usual pattern as its quite expensive fabric and I don’t have as much time as I intended this year either.

I have also bought some mainstream clothes! Winging their way across the postal network are a Simply B witchy black crochet maxi dress, & two pairs of jeans (one with flairs). There were several other things on various plus size sites I could have bought also. Got to say it is so nice to just look online for a particular type of clothing & be like “ooh, theres choice in my size & some of this I actually like” I’d say its going to end up expensive, except we have been keeping tabs on money for the last couple of months, & actually my sewing habit is quite expensive when you add together all the patterns and fabric I buy. I have an entire wardrobe full of fabric I haven’t used yet & my lace shelf is now massively overcrowded. One of my themes for the first half of next year is going to be using stuff I already own.

Also my wig and witches hat from My Lolita Dress arrived a few days ago (literally the next posting day after Halloween, which was slightly irritating). So I might do some reviews of stuff or something.

 

5 thoughts on “Black velvet if you please.

  1. Pingback: winter hat in summer time | euphoricstimuli

  2. Pingback: Improving on Primark | euphoricstimuli

Leave a Reply

