winter hat in summer time

Not that we’ve had very much actual summer this year, horrible gloomy weather, but its thankfully still too warm for wooly hats, even if I’ve had to have the heating on three or four evenings.

Anyway, here is my finished tiger print hat…..

 

I had no idea it was sitting so far back on my head when Jon took the photographs, & it doesn’t go best with the velvet dress, but its hard finding stuff that could pass as winter clothes but can still survive bonkers level humidity.

The hat is a Bobeek by Daniella Johannsenova on Ravelry, I made a previous one last year, i wasn’t intending on making it again for myself in such a hurry, but I felt I needed something plain to set off the tiger pattern. I am now well underway with a third one of the damn things because Jon liked my pink one so much (he looked so good in it the designer used the picture of him wearing it as a featured picture on the pattern page) that he’s been demanding his own version ever since. I’d give him the pink one, only its variegated between pink & red which means it goes with both my pink & red winter coats nicely, so I kind of need to keep it for myself.

The scarf is plain stockinette stitch, which I blogged here, and the dress is one I made last autumn.

I’ve been getting on rather better with knitting than I have with sewing at the moment, another hat is underway, and I’ve got my next 3 or 4 projects bought and planned.

The dress I’ve been meaning to make for the last couple of months is still sitting there in my work in progress basket, I’ve finally got my sewing machines out again to make a start, but its been overtaken by a dress for my Mums birthday I somewhat randomly decided to make (there is logic, i can do both without changing the overlocker threads). Luckily they are both quick projects & I’ve made one before so when I finally get going with it should only take a couple of hours each & then I can get back on track.

Finishing with a picture of our Elephant (& a couple of bulbs of normal garlic) that Jon has harvested from the allotment, its our first proper harvest of anything, so we are well proud of it. It is hanging up to dry at the moment. luckily I don’t mind the stink of garlic, because the flat reeks!

IMG_5518

One thought on “winter hat in summer time

Leave a Reply

